I Graduated!! Can I use the Library Databases?

Congratulations to the Class of 2016!!!

“Why can’t I get access to the Library’s databases?” is the perennial question of the recent Penn graduate.

graduation_celebration-hands-throwing-caps-in-ai2r

Unfortunately, the library’s subscription databases are only available to current students, faculty, and staff members of the University of Pennsylvania. Once the school switches a student’s status from student to alumni – usually mid-August – access to the Library’s electronic resources ends. Below is a summary of the Penn Libraries resources that you can access as an alumni, both remotely and on-campus. We also have a few tips for finding business resources at your local public library or on the Web.

Alumni Services provides information on visiting the Library, Library Events and E-resources that are accessible remotely using your PennKey information.

Alumni also have access to some business databases on campus as shown in this list: Alumni Business Database Access on Campus.

Other options for Alumni include the local public library.  Many public libraries provide access to selected databases for members.  Check your library to find out what is available to you.   New York City’s Science Industry and Business Library, (SIBL) rivals many college libraries. The Free Library of Philadelphia also has a large collection of business resources.

There are also many useful freely available web resources.  Here are a few tips on locating and finding reliable information.  First, check our Library Research Guides.  Many guides include web sites carefully vetted by subject Librarians.

libguides_cropped_marked2

Many Universities, such as Penn, provide Scholarly Commons where research by faculty and students are readily available.

Use Google filters.  For instance, when you are researching topics such as foreign trade or exporting, limit your search to government sites.  To search for trade regulations in Brazil, use this search:

TRADE REGULATIONS BRAZIL SITE:.GOV

You will retrieve resources about trade with Brazil from U.S. government sites only.

To search for information from associations or organizations use the filter SITE:.ORG.  Many organizations such as the World Bank provide free information. One great resource from the World Bank is the annual “Doing Business In survey of the ease of doing business in countries across the Globe.  The World Bank also provides detailed information on each country including business regulations and historical macroeconomic data.

Google Scholar contains many scholarly publications from around the world.  Many are accessible via the web.  This can also be used as a way to build a bibliography that can be used at the local library.

google scholar

 

 

 

 

 

The Library of Congress lists many resources, print and online in the Business Reference Services website.  Check out the Bibliographies & Guides as well as recommended Internet Resources.

Large consulting companies often provide free reports. PricewaterhouseCoopers provides industry overviews and research and insights.  Real estate firms such as CBRE provide quarterly international market research reports.

An easy way to access government data is through American Factfinder.  Select your topic of interest such as demographics, economics or housing.

CensusMap

FRED, the Federal Reserve Bank, St. Louis, is another depository of economic statistics and research.  This covers a range of countries as well as the United States.

The Thomas Register is the largest directory of suppliers in the the U.S.  Many companies include brochures.taking-your-biz-to-the-top2

 

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank providing information about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America.

Financial Data is also accessible on the web.  Yahoo Finance and Bloomberg provide data on stocks, bonds and other financial instruments as well as providing current news.

Yahoo-Finance-Logo

 

 

 

 

Edgar provides free access to company filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).  It also includes information about the usage for various filings.

This is a sampling of sites that are available on the web.  Good luck going forward!!

For more detailed information about the Library’s business databases available to alums, please look at our blog post Library Database Access for Penn Alumni.

 

 

 

Top 10 Resources for MBAs

The librarians at the Lippincott Library are excited to have new MBAs on campus. We’ve put together a listing of 10 resources/services available through the library that we think you should know about.
1. Wall Street Journal – The library has full-text access to the newspaper through a number of our subscription databases (just not through WSJ.com). You can browse the latest 2 weeks of the newspaper in Factiva.  Other places to find the Wall Street Journal can be found here.  You can also access The Economist, and other news sources.

docdel00012. Document Delivery – MBAs have access to a special delivery service for articles and book chapters. Send citations of interest to docdel@wharton.upenn.edu and we will scan or download the items you need & send them to you via email. This service was previously only available to faculty and PhDs but we’ve opened it up to MBAs – saving you both the time and headache of searching for the full-text.

Business Databases3. Subscriptions to 100+ business specific databases. Some highlights include databases that cover market and industry reports as well as financial resources used in the industry like Bloomberg, Factset, SDC, and many more.

4. Wharton MBAs have remote access to S&P Capital IQ through MBA Career Management – click on “Students”, then select “Research Tools”. Remote access will become available at the start of the Fall Term. Capital IQ is also available in the Lippincott Library for students with a Wharton login account.

5. Business FAQ – Provides quick reference help on a wide range of questions relating to business research. The FAQ is a knowledge base consisting of 15 broad categories (e.g. “Finance”) and more than 600 specific questions (e.g. “How do I find Info on Venture Capital and Private Equity?“). Take a look at our recent blog post, Just the FAQs, to learn more.

Guides6. Research Guides – Helpful guides put together by subject specialists at the Lippincott Library. The guides cover industries, geographies, and other business topics. Each guide includes links to subscription databases, journals, books, and other helpful resources that relate to the guide’s topic. Research Guides are a good starting point if you are new to a topic or just beginning your research.

4557vitale7. Group Study Rooms – The library has study spaces that you can reserve for groups of 4 to 12 people for up to two hours a day. We hope that when you are not collaborating in 2401 Walnut, you know that you have a place to meet with your group in Lippincott.

Research To Go8. Research To Go is one of the many ways that you can contact the librarians at the Lippincott Library. From 12:30pm to 1:30pm, Monday through Thursday, you can find a librarian in JMHH 251. Drop in for a reference consultation, no appointment is needed. Please feel free to interrupt us!

Bloomberg1019. Financial Database Instruction – Over the course of the school year, the Lippincott Library will be offering a variety of 1-hour classes covering topics like financial databases (Bloomberg & Capital IQ), Entrepreneurial Research, and Business Research Strategies. Database instruction will be hosted in the newest space in Lippincott, the Yablon Financial Resources Lab, when it’s completed at the start of the Fall Semester. A full listing of offerings will be available on the website.

Librarians10. Last but definitely not least, get research assistance from one of Lippincott’s six Business Research Librarians. There are lots of ways to contact us and we hope that you do. We will gladly help you get started with your research and projects!

Visiting Lippincott Library  You can access most of our electronic databases remotely, all you need is your Pennkey ID and password. However, there are some perks to visiting the library.

  • What do textbooks, laptop locks, and headphones all have in common? You can check-out these items from the Lippincott Library Reserve Desk for three hours at a time for use within the library.
  • With your Wharton ID and password you can log into computers that have the same image as the computers in Huntsman Hall. This allows you to do the same work you do in Huntsman, but in the library.
  • Access a number of specialized financial databases like Bloomberg, Capital IQ, Factset, SDC, Datastream, Morningstar Direct and Prowess.
  • Wharton printer – You can print in the library using your Wharton print account.
  • Scanner – Scan documents for free directly to your USB or email.
  • And, of course, in-person research assistance from the Lippincott Librarians. Come visit us at the Reference Desk.

Introducing Datapoints

We are pleased to announce the launch of Datapoints, a blog of the Lippincott Library, the Wharton School Library.

Datapoints will highlight the many digital resources of the Lippincott Library by examining the business research questions that we have found intriguing, challenging, strange, esoteric, or puzzling. We see Datapoints as providing a level of information detail midway between the broad outlines of our Research Guides (with subjects from Accounting to Venture Capital) and the details of our Business FAQ.

We hope that you will allow us to alert you to new blog posts by email. We look forward to your comments.

-Lippincott Business Librarians
lippinco@wharton.upenn.edu